RSS Feed

Salmon Patties

Posted on


Check out Home to 4 Kiddos for more wonderful recipes.

Last night I went to my pantry for this quick, last minute meal.

Canned salmon is an inexpensive way to add fish to your family’s diet. I know some people are turned off by fish, but the health benefits can’t be ignored. So if you’re one of those people with a fish hang-up, give this recipe at least one try.

SalmonPattieIngGenerally I double this recipe, but I only have I can of salmon, so I’ll make due with a single batch. 

  • 1-16 ounce can of salmon with liquid      
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup corn meal
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup vegetable oil for frying

SalmonPattieMix

Flake salmon & mash bones. Add all ingredients (except oil) and mix well. Form into patties and brown in oil on med-high heat until done. Makes around 8 patties.

TIP: Mixing by hand is very messy, but works better than a spoon.

SalmonPattiesFrying

If you have a concern about eating fish bones, don’t worry. Canned salmon bones are different. They have been pressure cooked and are soft. You can mash, actually pulverize them, with your fingers. Plus, these bones carry much of the omega oils that are vital to brain development and heart health.

Wheat germ another heart health ingredient. It aids the patties in browning and gives them a crunchy coating, but it can be added to so many foods. It can be sprinkled on cereals, yogurts, even ice cream without notice. If anything wheat germ will give a little crunch to soft foods. I’ve also used it in zucchini fries and other fried foods for a nice, crispy coating.

As for the onion, bell pepper and lemon juice. To me, these are suggestions. Last night I used what I had on hand: onion and a dash of lime juice. I did add mustard powder and garlic powder for a little extra flavor. If I had fresh garlic on hand, I would have used a clove or two–but I love cooking with garlic. Another favorite seasoning I’ve been known to add is lemon pepper. Whenever you cook fish, any lemon seasoning is always a good choice.

Since I only made a single batch, I knew I would need extra sides to stretch the meal. There were left over green beans and corn in the fridge, so all I needed to add was a can of black-eyed peas.

SalmonPattiePlate

From start to finish–including hand chopping the onion, it took me 45 minutes to fix dinner. A very nice, quick and healthy, meal, that my family completely devoured.

TIP: If you’re having trouble getting your kids to try the Salmon Patties, call them Crabbie Patties. When Buttercup was very young she didn’t want to try them, and Prince Charming–who was about 9–told her they were Crabbie Patties, and Sponge Bob cooked them. As much as I abhor that silly cartoon, it worked. To this day, we still call them Crabbie Patties. She knows they are made from salmon, but it’s one of those family things that stuck.

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

2 responses

  1. These look really good. I need some good recipes for “sneaking” healthy foods like fish into their diet. 🙂 Thanks for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday!” I hope you will be able to join us again this week. Many blessings, Lisa

    • Thanks Lisa, I won’t be joining in this week. I’ve been ill and haven’t been cooking. We’ll see how next week looks.

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

