RSS Feed

New Things–New Year–2013 Goals

Posted on

2013 is fully underway, but I’m still not completely back into the swing of things.

New Year’s fell on Tuesday, that meant my Knight didn’t return to work until Wednesday (that was after being on vacation for about two weeks), Prince Charming’s school started back Thursday (I’m sure those were two very productive days :/), so my schedule hasn’t quite returned to normal. Monday will be the day for the brand new start of a brand new year, a brand new month, a brand new semester, a brand new week, and a brand new day.

With starting anything new, old thing have to be given up. I didn’t really think about this until I read the For Your Inspiration blog today. Her three principals of letting go made a lot of sense.

Recognize that part of starting over means something else has ended.

The second part of restarting, after letting go of “what was” is embracing “what is”.

Let go of “what was”, embrace “what is”, and always look forward to “what is yet to come”.

Looking at these three truths, I have resolved 2012 is gone. Mistakes made are lessons learned. I will not wallow, worry, or wonder what other think about my short comings over the past year. This is the time to move forward. I am to look at what needs to be done, and make a plan to accomplish these items.

In fact, I should look at every day this way. At the end of the day, I shouldn’t see my unfinished task list as defeat, but as a review of what choices I should have made differently; what priorities I neglected and should focus on the next day. Every new day is an opportunity for success, but not success in self, but success in Christ.

With that said, I’ve decided my main goal for 2013 is: Set My Success in Christ.

So my January goal, and goal for this week in particular is: remove those obstacles preventing me from this success in Christ.

Removing these obstacles will be a continual process, but there are some obvious habits and routines that automatically come to mind. There are also some habits and routines that need to be added. I will spend this first week of January, and the first week of every month this year, making out an action plan for accomplishing this main goal in my life. I’ll work on finding a theme verse to. If you have a suggestion, feel free to post it.

I ask for your prayer and encouragement on this journey. It isn’t going to be easy.

 

FYI is a faith based organization committed to  strengthening the seven pillars common to every woman’s life: Purpose, Relationships, Balance, Health, Hospitality, Identity, and Faith.

Our passion is to uplift, honor, and inspire Jesus in everyday living.

 

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

6 responses

  1. I love the idea of coming back to your resolution each month, to keep on track and set small goals. Good luck with Everything!
    (Stopping by from the Crew :))

    • Hi Heather,

      Thanks for stopping by. I want to look at this as more than a resolution. I want to look at this as a soul change. Something that will put me back into a position I should have never left–under the hand of the Father. It’s so easy to say how we should live, but our actions don’t reflect that. I’m trying to get back to where those two are the thing.

  2. I love “set my success in Christ”! A great way to look at things and a challenge to me as well. Thanks for a thoughtful post!

    • Thank you Michelle.

      It’s going to be a tough challenge, but one worth taking on. Glad to have you join me.

  3. Awesome Post Rhonda…thanks for sharing parts of my post too. God bless!

    • Your welcome Julie. What you wrote went right along with what I was thinking. I was having trouble putting everything together until I read your post. You put me on the right road. 🙂

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

