RSS Feed

What Every Homeschool Mom Needs in 2013–Becoming A Woman of Peace

Binding: Softcover
ISBN: 978-1-4143-3602-2
List Price: $15.99
Release Date: September 2012
Page Count: 384
Trim Size: 6 x 9

The One Year Devotions for Women: Becoming a Woman of Peace should be part of every mom’s quiet time in 2013. Ann Spangler takes her readers on a journey to discover God’s peace, or rather His “shalom.” In her book Introduction she states:

“Shalom sums up all the blessings God can give to those He loves.” 

The book is set up in typical devotional fashion with a Scripture (NLT version), related devotion thought and short prayer. Every devotion is dated and includes one for February 29.

Each devotion is filled with hope and encouragement. They are the perfect way to start the day. The brief readings take little time, but are packed full of meaning. Around here, it’s hard to find a few minutes to myself without interruption. With these devotions I don’t have to worry about that. I can easily find where I’ve left off, and I’m eager to get back to the reading. These devotions stay with me. The  Scriptures are short, and full of Spiritual meat. I would encourage you to take the more impacting ones and jot them on index cards and post on the bathroom mirror, or over the kitchen sink as a refresher throughout the day. Some of the prayers have been known to make it to index cards around here.

This is something every mom should make a resolution to start her day with. In fact, I’ll give three lucky ladies that opportunity. Tyndale blessed me with three copies of Mrs. Spangler’s book to give away. So hop over to my facebook page, A Dining Room Education and register to win a copy, just click on the blue giveaway box. The winners will be announced New Year’s Day.

Ann Spangler’s sensitivity to the ever-changing spiritual and cultural climate in which we live has enabled her to address themes of profound interest to many readers. Praised for the freshness, depth, and honesty of her writing, Ann writes in ways that reveal not just her intellectual curiosity but her desire for a deeper connection with God. An award-winning writer, Ann published her first book in 1994. It became an instant best-seller. Since then she has followed up with several best-selling books, including Women of the Bible (co-authored with Jean Syswerda), Praying the Names of GodPraying the Names of Jesus and The One-Year Devotions for Women. Together, her books have sold millions of copies.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this product in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

4 responses

  1. All I need in 2013 and ever is God and my family, but a little bit of organization never hurt

  2. what I need to make 2013 wonderful?

    Good health. Not asking much…that’s all I want. 🙂

    But if I stop and think about it…. A great relationship with the Lord and contentment with where he has placed me in life. That’s mostly what I want. 🙂

  3. Looks like a great book! I’d love to have good health, peace, a closer walk with Jesus, and for my family to be healthy and happy, too. Those are the biggies and I guess the rest are details. =0)

    • This book is great. I’ve been thumbing through it for a several weeks now. I’m really liking it, but have held off really getting into it. I want to wait until Tuesday. 🙂

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

