RSS Feed

SchoolhouseTeacher.com–My Review

It’s the second week of December, and Buttercup’s semester goals are right on target. Yep, we’re just as behind now as we are this time every year.

I’ll pause for a minute while you wipe my sarcasm off your computer screen.

I’m not quite sure why we seem to spurt and sputter when it comes to completing schoolwork. If you saw my lesson plans—my beautiful, detailed lesson plans—you’d probably wonder the same thing. I’ve tried a lot of different techniques with no avail, but this week I found my, “a-ha,” moment, and it was at SchoolhouseTeachers.com.

SchoolhouseTeachers.com is a website created by The Old Schoolhouse Magazine. It’s full of all kinds of tools, and goodies (I’ll get to those in a minute). This website is subscription based and cost $64.26 a year (check out the special subscription rate going on now), or $5.95 a month. There is a special one month trial rate of $1. A homeschool parent can find everything they need to educate their children at Schoolhouse Teachers. There are lesson plans on all the basic subjects-Reading, Writing, and Arthimetic, as well as enrichment courses you might never consider. There’s a guitar class for elementary students, and middle and high school students can check out filmmaking, media socialization, and even participate in a mock trial pertaining to the First Amendment.

What I listed above is just a drop in the bucket of what you can find at Schoolhouse Teachers, and I still haven’t told you how I plan to use this website to turn around Buttercup’s homeschool day. My basic intent is to include The Course Checklist in our daily routine. This checklist is a monthly calendar broken down into school days. There are four different checklists; one for elementary, middle, and high school with Schoolhouse Teacher lesson plans printed on the corresponding day, and a blank one. Each day as we complete a subject, we’ll be able to check off the box for that subject and day. It will help Buttercup see progress and have a sense of accomplishment that her work is being completed, and she can also keep track of what there is left to do. She likes to know what’s coming up next. This should take a lot of stress off both of us.

The second part I’m looking forward to trying in January is the daily meal plans. A new recipe each day of the month should shake up the mundane and save on the food bill by buying ahead. Like I said, there are just too many things at SchoolhouseTeachers.com to mentions here. You’ll just have to get your own trial subscription—just $1, and check all this out for yourself.

Let me know your favorite parts.

Photobucket

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

2 responses

  1. just stopping by from the TOS review crew. Good to see what others have posted. 🙂

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

