RSS Feed

Keep Your Mouth Shut and Blog

Posted on

This is not exactly what I had planned to post today. I wanted to enlighten you on how I’m here as the voice of the everyday mom trying to get by. My house is far from Stepford-show place perfect, and we’ve had class in our jammies more times than I can count. Not necessarily because I planned it that way, but because time slipped away and we forgot to get dressed (or shower). My Knight would come home and give me a funny look, and I quickly told him I planned an all jammie school-day. I don’t think he bought it, because dinner was no where close to being defrosted, but he restrained from packing my bags. I’m so glad he loves me. I’ll have to tell you more about that some other time.

What changed my plans was an article I wrote several years back. I came across it cleaning out my Word files. It spoke to me about some recent events in my life. After reading it again, I really felt God tapping my shoulder saying, “Pay attention.” Sometimes, I really hate that. Not because God is speaking to me, but most often when this happens, I’m being corrected, and who really wants correction? Who likes to be told they are doing something wrong?

Anyway, I thought I’d post an edited version of this article. A little backstory is needed. Lately, I’ve been an extremely outspoken voice on some local issues, as well as with Prince Charming’s school. The school year has just started and I’ve made a few enemies, one this morning. I guess that’s why this article spoke volumes when I read it.

Keep Quiet and Let God Do His Job

When the forefathers wrote the Bill of Rights, they included the freedom of speech. I believe they included this so that everyone would have the ability to stand up and speak out against injustice, therefore charting a course for the injustice to be rectified. And, throughout our history, great men and women have stood against the establishment to right some extremely grievous wrongs. On the other hand, many have taken this freedom and twisted it to give them license to complain, moan and spread their infectious garbage. This causes the public to find fault with our leaders and our fellow man.

This became a Biblical truth to me while reading Exodus 14. The Israelites were in the wilderness with Pharaoh’s army fast approaching. There was no escape, the Israelites were hemmed in between the Egyptian army and the Red Sea.

And what did they do?

They did exactly what most of us would do; they began to whine and complain.

They couldn’t believe that God would lead them out of an oppressed life filled with hopelessness and into a wilderness to drown in the Red Sea. Suddenly that dismal life of being a slave and all the misery that went along with it no longer seemed so bad, in fact, it looked quite appealing when faced with death.

Moses stood up and gave them reassurance that God was in control.

Then we come to verse 14:

“God will fight the battle for you. And you? You keep your mouths shut!” Exodus 14:14(MSG)

Boy did that verse hit me between the eyes, or, rather, right under my nose. It was as if God placed His own hand over my mouth, and then whispered in my ear, “I know what I’m doing. I don’t need your help all the time. So sit down, and shut your mouth.”

Me? Sit down and shut my mouth? Is that actually possible? Oh what an exercise in patience, faith, and self-control. Not to mention a lesson in capturing thoughts. Boy, do I have some work ahead of me.

I guess another reason I was encouraged to start this blog. It’s a positive outlet for my point of view. I shouldn’t get in trouble (too much anyway) by voicing my opinion here. 🙂

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

Comments are closed.

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

