RSS Feed

Buttercup & Physics 101–Part 1

Posted on

When Prince Charming begins filling out college applications, ‘self-starter’ will not be listed in his quality characteristics. In fact, to get him to do anything I almost have to walk around dangling a Taco Bell gift card right just out of his reach. Buttercup is no self-starter either, but she is more easily motivated than the slug that lives upstairs. A Klondike Bar, or a day without the ipod generally gets her attention.

That leaves me with a dilemma. How do I teach my kids to get moving? To be the productive members of society they are expected to be? My little chicks won’t always be in my nest, and I with teens, I understand the concept of the bluebird pushing—no shoving—that baby out of the nest to fly. There won’t always be a Taco Bell nearby or a Klondike Bar handy. Therefore, this lesson shall be painful, but an important one to learn.

That brings me to today. Buttercup, my sweet, precious, darling BUTTERCUP! That little red-headed spit-fire decided today, she wanted to be lazy and spend the day in bed.

Annoying? Yes, tremendously! But, I let her do it anyway.

My day turned out to be very productive, laundry done, kitchen cleaned, I’ll tackle the dining table next. It’s been a rather pleasant and quiet day. Tomorrow, on the other hand, will not be so quiet.

Tomorrow Buttercup’s first lesson will be one in Physics. She will come to understand Newton’s Third Law of Motion:

For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.

Some of you may already be following me here. Since Buttercup decided to stay in bed and be lazy all day, she will discover that tomorrow will not only have double work, but she’ll also find that she’s rested up enough to do double chores.

I can hear the shrieking, moaning, and sobbing already. Sir Clark’s noise cancelling headphones, and my mp3 player should help with that. Maybe I should go to the dollar store and buy one of those fake award things, so she can be rewarded for the performance, or maybe I’ll write in a Drama Class. That way I can grade how well she protests. Either way, at the end of the day, my point will be made. I don’t think I’ll have this sleeping in problem again.

Now I need to go make a list of chores she and I can do together, and make an action plan for Sir Clark to wake the dragon tomorrow morning. This is going to be fun, nothing like bugging your kids as much as they bug you. I’ll let you know how things go.

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

2 responses

  1. I have to tell you the reality and humour of your posts is such a welcome relief. Real struggles, perhaps real solutions 🙂 I Love your response to life, and I think a credit in Drama would be a worthy addition to her list. I have one just like her upstairs at this moment. THanks for the smile and good luck!

    • Well stick around, there’s more of this to come. Wait for the post where I “clean the attitude out of you.” Be sure to tell your friends.

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

