RSS Feed

The Well Planned Day Family Homeschool Planner: My Review

Posted on


When I start thinking about another school year, I seriously want to bang my head against a table.

Actually, I don’t—that was just yesterday. It was one of those, “tell me again, why exactly I’m doing this?” days.  Well, today is another day, the sun is shining, Sadie is thumping her tail on the floor, all is quiet, and for the moment, I have some time to chat.

In yesterday’s post I promised to tell you about my favorite homeschool tool. It’s The Well Planned Day Family Homeschool Planner. This is our third year of homeschool, and I started out with this planner. Last year, I tried something else, only to find myself ordering a pdf version in January. This year when I was asked to review the latest 2012-2013 version, I jumped at the opportunity. I can’t get through my homeschool day without this planner. It keeps me organized (or as organized as this ADHD mom can possibly be), and on top of what’s going on with school. I’ve looked at what seems to be every school planner created, and tried about half of those, but I keep coming back to my old reliable. This planner is easy to use, navigate, and it’s blocks and printing are large enough for every mom and dad to read.

The Well Planned Day Family Homeschool Planner is organized from July to June, with one week covering a two-page layout. The spiral binding allows the book to lie flat, or be folded in-half without issue.  Monday through Friday is then broken down into seven subject areas. Five are labeled: Bible, Math, History, Science and English, while two are left blank. The daily grid accommodates up to four students. Saturday and Sunday get their own box off to the side. This is perfect to jot down reminders of soccer games, birthday parties, and church activities. There’s even a weekly dinner menu included. With a simple glance, you can see your kid’s entire week; school week (including outside activities), weekend, and what you’re going to feed them on one page. For that matter, they can check out the page and you won’t get that, “What’s for dinner?” question from each individual in the house.

With the children’s day covered, the planner expands to help the household manager with the more mundane record keeping portion of homeschooling. You can keep an individual profile for each student, along with their vital information needed for education records: attendance, grades, and schedules. There are wonderful, logs to record expenses, books read, and field trips taken. There are even formal report cards you can tear out and use. Buttercup likes this feature. Don’t know what it is about me handing her that paper with quarterly grades, but it makes her happy.

There are a few other features I want to point out. Each month starts with an edifying article pertaining to homeschooling. They aren’t just feel good articles, they actually have value you can apply to your life. The second neat thing about this planner is the small, perforated grocery list. There’s at least one for each week of the year. You can jot down items during the week as needed. No more forgetting that desperately needed bottle of mustard, and witnessing the drama of complaint when Prince Charming must eat a naked corn dog. The last, but most important feature is the daily Bible reading schedule. A way to keep any good homeschooling mom, or dad, grounded.

The heart and soul of the planner is the weekly and daily breakdown. Since I only use this for one student, I can fill in every line with great detail, and I do. In fact, there is so much detail in this planner, that if I were to misplace it, I would be completely lost. I wouldn’t know what to do next. Good thing Buttercup doesn’t read this, or she might find a way to make it disappear. We tend to have passive/aggressive natures around the Clark house, or at least, like mother like daughter.

What makes the 2012-2013 better than before: The Christmas gift-giving planner. I plan to make full use of this.

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

4 responses

  1. I’ve looked at these for a long time and would love to win one! Thanks for your great review! I’m a new follower and also working up a blog about homeschooling, faith, family, frugal living, and book/product reviews; would love a follow back. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Would love to win this planner, I sure need a good one =)

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

