RSS Feed

Welcome to My World

Posted on

WOW!! It’s hard to believe our summer has passed and school is back in full swing. I feel like we hardly had any summer down time at all. Even though the family did travel with my Knight in Shining Armor (or as the kids call him–ATM) on a couple of business trips, and they had a wonderful vacation. I’ll tell you those stories later. You’re probably wondering why, being a homeschool mom, I don’t just take more time. Sounds like a great plan, but for now, I still have one in a regimented school system, and its better if Buttercup—my homeschooler—follows the same schedule.

Buttercup and Prince Charming, those are my two darlings. Prince Charming has just started his senior year in high school. Even though he’s not homeschooled, you’ll hear plenty about him and his adventures. Here’s a hint of things to come: Prince Charming has narcolepsy, if you don’t know what that is, we’ll that’s another blog.

I thought about titling this blog “Adventures with Buttercup,” because, after all, Buttercup will be the fodder for most of these posts. What prevented me from using that title was, Buttercup. Although she likes the name Buttercup for herself, she said the title sounded like I was training a horse.

I couldn’t have said that better myself, because honestly, sometimes that’s exactly what I feel like I’m doing. I’m sure you know what I mean.

Back to the topic at hand, this blog is going to be filled with homeschool tips, topics and tricks, and some post may even be me begging for your help, like mailing me a piece of sanity—or a screw or two, because I’ve lost mine along the way. I’ll also have interviews, reviews, things I like, and things I don’t (and why I don’t like them). We’ll be in the kitchen with easy, throw together, last minute meals. I’ll try to keep my snarkiness in check, but I don’t want to make a promise I can’t keep, therefore I promise my snarkiness will come out. I’m a down to earth girl who sees life in a different light than most. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the quirky side of my brain. Trust me, ask my friends, I don’t think like other people, and I can find God in anything. Give me a circumstance, and I’ll give you an object lesson.

I also plan to use this as a catch-all for those great ideas that seem to pass through one ear and out the other. You see, my mind never stops working. It just won’t stop talking. My friends are laughing hysterically now, I know. These great ideas include classes, projects,  and story ideas. I’ll also be giving sneak peeks of the lesson plans and projects for the classes I teach.

Did I mention goodies?? I have goodies to give away. For my kickoff week, I have the 2012-2113 Well Planned Day Family Homeschool Printed Planner for a lucky commenter. The people Home Educating Family were gracious enough to send me one of these to review, and you’ll read that tomorrow. I don’t think I could make it without that planner.

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

10 responses

  1. This sound interesting. Hope your blog has many followers.

  2. I will be following! I\’m a homeschool mom of four. I have one in hs, two in middle school and one with dedicated needs. Summer did go by quickly.

    • Thanks Sherrie, Buttercup is in 7th grade, and can’t understand why junior high has so much more work. Stay tuned…

  3. This should be a fun blog to follow! Also a good way to keep up with you and your family without constant emails, calls, nags, whatever. 🙂

    • Readers, I’d like to welcome the one person who knows more about me than any other. My best friend. Only she won’t be sharing, because I won’t approve her comments if she does. :D. I will let her chime in.

      Now, go back and read the blog again.

  4. I’ve been homeschooling for eight years now. Yikes! Has it really been that long? I’m always open to new stuff. So sign me into your contest. 🙂

  5. Hey! Looking forward to some “snarkiness” from you! I have been eyeing that planner and would LOVE to try it out! ;-D

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

