RSS Feed

Grocery Store Discount Dinner-Try a New Recipe Tuesday

Posted on

photo6

Last Thursday I was in the grocery store stocking up when I came across some awesome deals.

In the produce section we have fresh veggie kits, everything to make a wonderful, savory side dish at home. These tend to be pricey, but when you find these on clearance they are an excellent deal.

I found Roasted Butternut Squash and Broccoli Medley in Lemon Dill Sauce. Regularly these would be $3.99 each, but they were marked down to $1.99 each. After I picked these up, I headed to the clearance bread rack where I grabbed a loaf of cheese bread for $1.69. This is regularly around $4.99. Next I chose a fresh roasted chicken from the deli. I paid retail price of $5.99 for that.

Dinner was ready in less than and hour and fed my husband and I for a couple of meals. The kids ate some chicken. Prince Charming opted out of the veggies because he ate too late and they were already cold. If he had been there when they were hot, he would have cleaned them out. Buttercup, doesn’t really eat much of anything.

So, for about $12.75, I fed my family a healthy and delicious meal. If I had paid retail the price would have been right around $20. That’s more than a 35% savings.

Next time you’re in the grocery store late in the afternoon, tired and just ready to go home, but dinner still haunts you, use my discount dinner trick. It’s quick, easy, satisfy the masses, and I had 2 pans to wash.

Oh, and my tea, it was already in the fridge waiting. I didn’t even have to brew it, but I could have picked up a jug at the the grocer for an inexpensive price. photo4

About rcwriter

Being a freelance writer, book reviewer, dedicated mom, and popular teacher at her homeschool support group—Renewed Moms Ministry keeps Rhonda Clark extremely busy. She writes most all of her own curriculum for her classes that have varied from elementary science, to middle school history and literature, to high school computer. Her middle school history class, A Renaissance World, will be featured at SchoolhouseTeacher.com fall of 2014. When not shuttling her daughter to soccer, archery, bowling, or any other number of endless activities, she devotes time to writing homeschool curriculum and her first novel. Scrapbooking, paper crafting, and reading are downtime activities, but the one thing she enjoys most is spending time with her husband of 20 years. They have two children, a college age son, and a high school age daughter. God blessed Rhonda with a quirky and funky sense of humor. This combines with down home charm, and allows her to connect to readers as a friend. With an ability to put a fresh twist on basic thoughts and Biblical teachings she brings a new perspective to her audience.

Comments are closed.

Thinking Aloud

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories & Reviews

Future.Flying.Saucers

"Hey Mama! I wanna be a flying saucer when I grow up!"

Spirit Filled Kindle

Free & Bargain Christian e-Books for Kindle

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

indie-visible

literary justice for all

Nike Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

jerry-jenkins.com

Educating Kids Around the Dinner Table

Romancing The Rock

Faith. Heritage. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Where romance ravishes history...

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 718 other followers

